26 years old and don't know what to do next

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
owenmollie

26 years old and don't know what to do next

Post by owenmollie »

Hi all!
I'm 26y/o

I have ~51k between my 401k, roth, money market and personal accounts.
No house of my own yet (living with bf in his house)
35k in debt to car (I know it was not the best choice.. no lectures please!)
No significant credit card debt or student loans.

Emergency funds: 8k.. which is ~6 months

Debt: 35k @~4.39% interest (car)

Tax Filing Status: single

Tax Rate: ?? Not sure where to find this?? Federal, ??State

State of Residence: Oregon

Desired Asset allocation: xx% stocks / xx% bonds... whatever is best for my age. I'm still learning about these methods.
Desired International allocation: xx% of stocks... not sure.

I believe my current portfolio falls ito the mid five figures..

Current retirement assets

Taxable
5% cash

401k:
35% through employer with 6%match from them. I am maxing that contribution.

Roth IRA:
5%

Single (money market):
30%

Contributions

New annual Contributions
?? 401k (6%).... I'll go look into that and learn more about it...
$100 into ROTH IRA
$100 into Money Market

Available Funds
(Besides what I posted above... I'm not sure what I'd post differently under this category)

I am not including the boyfriends information at this time because I am concerned about his ability to be financially savvy and am keeping my decisions separate from him at this time.

*** So far... from the most recent comments... it sounds like I'm way more uneducated than I thought I was. Any good books to help with this problem? Simple is always better for me if possible!***

I'm looking for advice/guidance on what to do next! I feel like I'm stagnating. I've been speaking to my dad about Vanguard but haven't gotten around to taking advantage of it yet but I plan to.