Fidelity HSA California strategy

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
aha

Fidelity HSA California strategy

Post by aha »

I wish I had known about the Fidelity HSA earlier but I just moved my HSA from Elements and TDAmeritrade to Fidelity. So now I have STIP and some cash to invest. Is it better to:

1) invest the cash in STIP so I only need to track one fund? STIP seems to be not commission free. (I could be wrong. I'm still learning how to navigate the web site. There's a lot of stuff.)
or
2) invest the cash in some other treasury or TIPS fund. (I live in CA.) That would mean maintaining two funds. What fund/ETF do you recommend? I'm looking for 10-year TIPS.
or
3) sell STIP and invest in a better fund. Then I'll probably need to pay capital gain tax in CA.

The ultimate goal is to minimize paper work and tracking work.
Jtf6

Re: Fidelity HSA California strategy

Post by Jtf6 »

I live in California, I max out an HSA and I put my money in fidelity FZROX fund. I'll deal with the state tax implications. As far as I know,as long as I don't make any trades within my HSA, the only tax hit I have to worry about is not having my earnings ($2600 not including the $900 passthrough payments) tax exempt.

I'll still have to pay state taxes at withdrawal but maybe by that point I won't be living in California. I'm using my HSA as another retirement account and reducing my federal income allows me to continue to be eligible for a Roth IRA (barely).

Any medical expense I just front end from my savings.
Am I missing something?
nps

Post by nps »

Jtf6 wrote: Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:30 am As far as I know,as long as I don't make any trades within my HSA, the only tax hit I have to worry about is not having my earnings ($2600 not including the $900 passthrough payments) tax exempt.
Does FZROX not pay dividends? Or are you in 0% LTCG bracket? Otherwise you will be paying tax also on dividends.