Sell company stock (taxes) or wait until early retirement (no or low taxes)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
SnowBog

Sell company stock (taxes) or wait until early retirement (no or low taxes)

Post by SnowBog »

I know the general rule of thumb here is to immediately sell company stock, and never let it be more than 5-10% of your assets.

Sadly, I didn't know that years ago... I've been selling all new shares since late 2018, but I have 5+ years of shares still sitting in my account.

While the % has been going down each year (since 2018), these company shares currently represent about 25% of my assets (not adjusting for any amounts also held as part of TSM, S&P500, etc.).

And I've been transferring appreciated shares to fund a UTMA earmarked for college (up to the kiddie tax limit). I don't currently have a DAF, but that's a future possibility as well.

The gains are about 2/3 of the holdings (so about 17% of my total assets), and between federal (20%), NIIT, and state taxes, I'd lose probably 30% or more of the gains to taxes (rough math 5-6% of my assets) if I were to liquidate them. Which would take me 2+ years to make up with new savings (forcing me to work longer).

If I had 20+ years to go, I'd think different...

But my delima is we are on track to be able to retire (or take less stress/lower pay jobs) within the next 10 years. Doing so would give us 10-15 years of little to no "income" (and thus taxes) before SS, pensions, etc. kick in. Those 10-15 years would give far more flexibility to tax efficiently deal with these (as well as look at Roth conversions, etc.), potentially paying a fraction of the taxes if pay now.