New Here Wondering About Possible Market Crash

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
PineForest

New Here Wondering About Possible Market Crash

Post by PineForest »

New to investing and to this forum. Appreciate all the valuable information. Even though I'm 44, I'm a beginner with all this. Better late than never...

I have a question about the market. I understand that no one can predict where the market is going, but do people here think that the market will crash sometime soon? Some websites I read say that the stock market has been artificially inflated and that it is not in balance with the values of businesses. Yet it keeps going up.

The practical side of my question is that I have a chunk of money and want to invest it in a couple different VG or Fidelity index funds after holding it in bank accounts for many years. I am wondering if I should wait until the market crashes to invest this money or if I should just go for it, knowing that a crash or correction will happen at some point and and that crashes/corrections are part of the long term game. I don't see myself needing this money for 16 years or more, until I retire.

Thanks.
runner3081

Re: New Here Wondering About Possible Market Crash

Post by runner3081 »

PineForest wrote: Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:57 pm Some websites I read say that the stock market has been artificially inflated and that it is not in balance with the values of businesses.
Stop reading that junk.

Set your target and an asset allocation. Keep doing that and ignore everything else.
m@ver1ck

Post by m@ver1ck »

The mArket was hot and going to crash last January. In fact it did. Then it went up 30%
Last edited by m@ver1ck on Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jebediah

Post by Jebediah »