Grabiner, community , help with OR muni fund choice vs vwiux

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
annu

Grabiner, community , help with OR muni fund choice vs vwiux

Post by annu » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:55 am

I am in 35% bracket, in Oregon. I have vwiux but just found out about https://www.morningstar.com/funds/xnas/ortyx/quote
, it has sec yield of 1.8
It has a higher expense ratio of 0.550 compared to vwiux which is 0.09 https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-fu ... view/vwiux which has sec yield of 1.54

I will like to invest in my taxable account, and since will get state tax benifit also considering OR state muni.

I see a management fee mentioned of .4, not sure but think it included in gross expense ratio of .550

I am new to muni, so looking for some help in taxable.

toblerone

Re: Grabiner, community , help with OR muni fund choice vs vwiux

Post by toblerone » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:13 am

annu wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:55 am
I am in 35% bracket, in Oregon. I have vwiux but just found out about https://www.morningstar.com/funds/xnas/ortyx/quote
, it has sec yield of 1.8
It has a higher expense ratio of 0.550 compared to vwiux which is 0.09 https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-fu ... view/vwiux which has sec yield of 1.54

I will like to invest in my taxable account, and since will get state tax benifit also considering OR state muni.

I see a management fee mentioned of .4, not sure but think it included in gross expense ratio of .550

I am new to muni, so looking for some help in taxable.
The management fee is included in the expense ratio. Since the expenses of VWIUX are so low, it is likely to beat any national muni with the same risk profile.
What matters to you is the risk difference and total return, after taxes. 1.8% vs 1.54%... what is your state tax rate?

Admiral

Post by Admiral » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:23 am