Why Roth IRA when you have not maxed out 401k?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
stingray777

Why Roth IRA when you have not maxed out 401k?

Post by stingray777 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 3:58 pm

Hello, this is my first posting, and I am new to investment. I've read books written by Dave Ramsey, Daniel Solin, and Jane Bryant Quinn along with a few online articles. I've got Bogleheads investing book in my hand (just started). Most say that you want to invest gross 15% into retirement. (Fine.) Now, the order is, do the company match, put $6000 into your Roth IRA, then the rest goes back into 401K.

I do not understand why. They do not really explain. If the available amount is the same, it should depend on other factors.
The workplace offers 401k and Roth 401k, and I am starting next month. So I have 3 choices for my bags - traditional 401k, Roth 401k and Roth IRA.
My understand is that under most circumstances, if you will be in a lower tax bracket after you retire than you are now, Roth is NOT a better option. Is that correct?

Here are my conditions:
- New to retirement plan. I was putting aside only 2% just to get a company match
- The employer is switching from Simple Plan to full-scale 401k and Roth 401k in January next year
- 20 years till retirement.
- I do not make tons of money
- Most likely I will be in a lower tax bracket when I retire. Not enough in the bag.
- Different online calculators say I get $500K when I retire.
- I have not seen the selection of funds that the employer offers (available in a few days), but I heard that there would be Vanguard index funds. Yes!

Q1 - Under the circumstance, do I still want to open Roth IRA, like these authorities say? If so, why? I think it is applicable only if you get million dollars or more in the bag, and you will be in a higher tax bracket.