Student Loans and the 2020 Election

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
PEMdoc

Student Loans and the 2020 Election

Post by PEMdoc » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:01 pm

Hi Bogles, quick student loan question. I'm a newly minted attending physician about 1.5 years into practice. Current income is ~180k/year with small chance of increases up to maybe 220/year over the next couple of years. I also have ~150k in student loan debt at an average interest rate of 6.57%. I know I need to refinance the loans to lower my interest rate, but I've been hesitating a bit with the upcoming election. With one party seeming to make some sort of loan forgiveness a common talking point, I'm wondering what y'all think about waiting until the election to go ahead and refinance them. My concern is that if I refinance them now, and some sort of forgiveness program does materialize, I won't be eligible for it since I refinanced to a private institution. On the other hand, it seems like quite a while to wait for what's probably a pretty low chance of loan forgiveness actually happening and I'll be accruing interest at this rate in the meantime. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

*Obviously this post is not for any discussion of the merits of a forgiveness program or the political aspect of this topic*

Grt2bOutdoors

Re: Student Loans and the 2020 Election

Post by Grt2bOutdoors » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:04 pm

How much lower is the new rate if you do refinance?
"One should invest based on their need, ability and willingness to take risk - Larry Swedroe" Asking Portfolio Questions

Topic Author
PEMdoc

Post by PEMdoc » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:06 pm

Grt2bOutdoors wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:04 pm
How much lower is the new rate if you do refinance?
Variable refinance rates typically between 2-3.5%, fixed rates more like 3-4%.

pharmermummles

Post by pharmermummles » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:08 pm