Vanguard Portfolio Advice - $200K

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
karamazov5

Vanguard Portfolio Advice - $200K

Post by karamazov5 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:47 pm

Can anyone weigh in on the is portfolio / asset allocation strategy?

Background
- Total comp: 180k,
- 40 years to retirement, in 20's.
- risk-seeking,
- buy-and-hold strategy,
- knowledgable enough to avoid basic mistakes (e.g. selling in a down-market, picking stocks vs. index funds).

Portfolio ($200K)
- 45% in US Technology equities - (VGT)
- 40% in US Stock Market - (VTI, VTSAX)
- 7% in US Real Estate - (VNQ)
- 5% in International Stocks - (VTIAX)
- 2% in Crypto - (BTC, ETH)
- 1% in bonds - (BND)

Other remarks
- Not quite persuaded to invest more in international equities, as it seems US large-cap stocks have exposure here?
- I work in tech and am very bullish on tech outperforming analyst expectations in the long-term (20 years and beyond).
- I'd like to diversify more around large/mid/small-cap.

dru808

Re: Vanguard Portfolio Advice - $200K

Post by dru808 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:18 pm

Why the 1% in bonds, what’s the point?

lakpr

Post by lakpr » Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:34 pm

Is this all in taxable account?

That you are working in the tech industry is all the more reason to stay away from technology stocks. You are putting your livelihood, as well as your retirements, at risk here. If technology stocks turn south, you are hit with a double whammy. There is too much concentration risk as it is in the total stock market with the tech stocks dominating it, you don't need to compound it further by over weighting your own portfolio to it.