Longtime Lurker Needs Advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
FutureReturns

Longtime Lurker Needs Advice

Post by FutureReturns » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:46 pm

Background: So I became a member of this site in 2013, but this is my first post. Throughout the past 6 and a half years, I would occasionally visit this site and I have gained a lot of knowledge about personal finance as a result. I think the main reason I never became a frequent visitor (and never posted) was due to me allowing myself to become too easily discouraged after reading about how far behind I was compared to others my age on this site. In 2013, I was a recent college graduate with over $40k in student loan debt (with an average interest rate of ~7%), and my starting annual salary was only $39k. I would see posts from others my age asking for advice on how to invest inheritances or other windfalls, or which accounts to max out first on their high salaries with zero debt. I spent a lot of time playing sports growing up, and was always fiercely competitive as a result, so it was tough to compare myself to others financially and come up well short. As I’ve matured over the years and gained perspective, it's sunk in for me just how personal personal finance truly is, and I am now solely focused on how I can best maximize my wealth given my circumstances.

I recently finished paying off my student loan debt after making accelerated payments throughout the past few years. I’ve also been lucky enough to increase that $39k annual salary to $115k through promotions and new opportunities, and now I can finally max out my retirement funds and contribute to a taxable account. I am also recently engaged and we’re hoping to be married at some point in late 2020. So now feels like a good time to ask the wise folks at Bogleheads for advice on how best to tackle my/our new short- and long-term goals.