which bond fund and what %

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jsa307

which bond fund and what %

Post by jsa307 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:13 pm

I'm accumulating extra cash each month, beyond what I've allocated as savings for retirement. I'd like to start using a taxable account specifically for this bucket, but unsure what the right bond fund is (and what the AA should be). The money isn't earmarked for anything in particular; it could be for a home renovation, a car, or something I haven't thought of in the future. No specific time horizon. I'd like to be more aggressive than a MM account, and it won't "ruin" any plans if there is a decrease in value. I'm a New York state resident in the 37% federal/6.85% state tax brackets ... any suggestions for which bond fund to use in taxable? And thoughts for AA, given the circumstances ... 50/50? 40/60?

Thanks!

livesoft

Re: which bond fund and what %

Post by livesoft » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:16 pm

I use 100% equities in taxable and no bond funds. I put my bond funds in my tax-deferred 401(k). Thus, I don't have the same asset allocation in my taxable, tax-deferred, nor Roth IRA accounts, but if I consider them all as one portfolio they add up to the asset allocation that I want for my total portfolio.

But if you want some bond fund in taxable, then I suggest the Vanguard New York Long-term Tax-Exempt Fund.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

retired@50

Post by retired@50 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:59 pm

VNYTX if you can commit $3,000 or VNYUX if you want to commit $50,000 or greater.
The percentage of your asset allocation is up to you.
Regards,

vipertom1970

Post by vipertom1970 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:16 pm

livesoft wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:16 pm