New to investing, starting a roth ira at 46

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
thelateinvestor43

New to investing, starting a roth ira at 46

Post by thelateinvestor43 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:13 am

Hi,

Regrettably, at 46 I have just begun to start a Roth Ira at Fidelity. I plan on working at least another 20 years, and maybe never retiring really as I don't think I can afford to. I don't make a lot of money and I'm single and have no kids. Is it too late to start a Roth? I realize I'm not going to retire a millionaire, etc. I live and take care of my mother at the moment.

I have about $400, maybe $600, a month at least to throw into an IRA (roth) and have a larger amount that I inherited from my grandmother that I can also put in at $6000 a year. I am totally new to this. I did create an account, etc, but have not yet begun to fund it.

Can someone help give me some tips on the funds that would be best to select, etc or is that a subjective issue? For example, mutual funds or etfs, and how many.

lakpr

Re: New to investing, starting a roth ira at 46

Post by lakpr » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:44 am

What is your annual projected income? How much can you realistically save per year? Do you have access to a workplace retirement plan?

Depending on those answers, a Roth IRA may or may not be the best solution. Your workplace plan, if exists, might be. Or a traditional IRA might be.

rkhusky

Post by rkhusky » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:49 am

Take a look at this post as to the type of information useful for giving portfolio advice:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6212

Brianmcg321

Post by Brianmcg321 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:11 am

It's never to late!

You completed the first step. Now set up an auto draft and start depositing $500 a month.

In twenty years you could have about 300k in that account.