What’s in your TSP?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
tomwood

What’s in your TSP?

Post by tomwood » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:27 am

I’m new to the TSP. Do people who have outside retirement accounts invest differently inside the TSP because of the outside accounts or do they try to have similar investments, such as the 3 fund portfolio, in all accounts?
And are people on this forum, who have a TSP, more likely to use the L Fund over people who only have a life cycle fund available in their 401k with likely higher fees?
Any and all TSP advice is welcomed.

Buford T Justice

Re: What’s in your TSP?

Post by Buford T Justice » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:37 am

My TSP and Outside investments are similarly invested but I weight my IRA's more toward Emerging Markets and International Bonds because the TSP has neither... I think the TSP includes Yankee bonds which are bonds issued by a foreign entity, such as a bank or company, but issued and traded in the United States and denominated in U.S. dollars.

stan1

Post by stan1 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:47 am

We do not use the L funds because we have many other accounts including Roth IRAs, Traditional IRAs, inherited IRAs, and taxable accounts. We do not use the I Fund because we don't need a developed market large cap international fund in our asset allocation (we have total international, emerging markets, and international small in other accounts). We do not use the F fund because we have bonds in other accounts. We do not use the S fund to overweight companies outside the S&P 500 (we use small cap value for that which is not offered at the TSP and hold it in other accounts). So for us we use the C and S fund to replicate Total Stock Market at a fixed 80/20 ratio (it changes but that's what we use and don't sweat the minor details) and the G Fund as part of our fixed income allocation.

You should use the funds you need to build your asset allocation.