Fidelity and Roth IRA question, new to group

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
zoeyjjsaw

Fidelity and Roth IRA question, new to group

Post by zoeyjjsaw » Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:05 am

Hi,

I am new to the group. I just opened a Roth IRA at Fidelity after transferring funds over from my employer. Currently in cash and so need to be re invested.

1. Understanding that this Roth account will be part of my overall allocation with other retirement and taxable accounts, what are good asset classes to put in Roth accounts. total market index? Reit index? What would be more favorable asset classes to hold in a Roth account vs. in a 401K or taxable account?

2. I am new to Fidelity. What are good broad, low expense ratio index funds with Fidelity. An equivalent to a VTSAX for example?

Thanks!

mervinj7

Re: Fidelity and Roth IRA question, new to group

Post by mervinj7 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:25 am

1. https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Tax-eff ... _placement

2. https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Fidelity

Read the above and feel free to ask follow up questions.

557880yvi

Post by 557880yvi » Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:51 am

If you can provide a bit more information about your situation - age (or years to retirement), other retirement assets, goal for retirement, the responses can be more tailored. :moneybag :D

Big Jim24

Post by Big Jim24 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:48 am

I am in the same boat as you, so I will be watching the responses.

HomeStretch

Post by HomeStretch » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:53 am

Welcome! Fidelity is a great place to hold your Roth IRA (as is Vanguard) in my experience. They offer diversified, low-cost mutual funds and ETFs.