First post; allocation guidance

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
admiralty

First post; allocation guidance

Post by admiralty » Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:38 pm

This is my first post and I am somewhat new to Vanguard and index investing. First, thank you for providing such a vibrant intellectual community, for passionately crusading for greater sanity and humility from the financial services industry, and for so generously providing your advice and perspective to investors of all stripes.

I am helping some friends move away from banks and RIAs, and wondered if I could leverage the wisdom of the Boglecrowd to provide any suggestions for improvements on their asset allocation, beyond what they are already receiving from a plethora of advisors. There are a few peculiarities about their situation:
  1. 20% of their assets are locked in their employer's pension plan, all tax-deferred or tax-free but illiquid. This plan has consistent 60/40-like returns over time. It is allocated like an All-Weather portfolio, at least in spirit: investments "uncorrelated" to the market (like relative value alts), inflation-sensitive investments (TIPS, RE), deflation-sensitive investments (government bonds), and prosperity investments (equities).
  2. Assume they can generate a 3.5% after-tax yield in international 1-year CDs, without incurring currency, institutional, or sovereign risk. Assume no break fee and that this rate will continue for the next ~5-10y.
  3. Assume a blended pool managed for 3 people with 2 time horizons.
  4. IRAs and Roth IRAs only contain VNQ/VNQI or VT/VTI but that can be changed.
The profile is:

Tax status: 1x head of household, 1x single
Tax rate: highest, California
Age: 2 people 5 years from retirement, 1 person 10-20 years from retirement
Desired asset allocation: 75/25
Desired international allocation: 60 US / 40 international
Portfolio size: Large (50m+)