SEP IRA vs Backdoor Roth

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
nutcracker

SEP IRA vs Backdoor Roth

Post by nutcracker » Sat Oct 26, 2019 12:51 pm

Hi all,
I am a newbie to investing and still learning about the various tax deferred/free retirement options. I am a full time hospital employed physician. I have a 401K through my employer which I max out. I will start doing locum tenens soon. I would be making about 100K through the locum tenens (as a 1099 employee). I don't have any other IRAs at present other than the full time employer 401K. I understand that at the year end you should not have an money left in any of your IRAs if you do the backdoor Roth. But since the backdoor Roth is allowing for only 6K vs the SEP IRA allowing pretax contributions of 25% of income (about 25K for me) Im confused as to which one to go for? During my research I couldn't find a clear answer. TIA

mhalley

Re: SEP IRA vs Backdoor Roth

Post by mhalley » Sat Oct 26, 2019 1:35 pm

Are you talking about a sep ira for the 1099 gig? Why not do a solo 401k, thus preserving the ability to do backdoor Roth.
https://obliviousinvestor.com/sep-vs-si ... solo-401k/

Topic Author
nutcracker

Post by nutcracker » Sat Oct 26, 2019 1:57 pm

Thanks for your reply. I have contributed 19 K through my employer 401K. So will I be able to contribute again through a solo 401K since I have reached the annual contribution limit through my employer? Also I didn't know that you could do the backdoor Roth and have a solo 401K at the same time. Thanks again

lakpr

Post by lakpr » Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:03 pm

nutcracker wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 1:57 pm