Starting out- Roth IRA-ETF's

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Jmelo05

Starting out- Roth IRA-ETF's

Post by Jmelo05 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 2:27 pm

Hello all! I'm completely new to the investing world and have questions. I'm 27 years old and so far I have taken advantage of my company's match at 6% using target date fund. I JUST opened a Roth IRA with Vanguard and want to be aggressive with my portfolio, but I'm having a hard time understanding how the roth works as a whole after you put money into it. I was looking into the index funds but you need $3000 minimum for which I dont currently have so now I'm looking into ETF's since they have low expense ratios and are mucch cheaper to buy.

Are ETF's something that you can buy & hold ?

Are they a good idea for the long run?

Can I reinvest into a index fund once I have enough ?

As a young investor I would appreciate any help :happy

samsoes

Re: Starting out- Roth IRA-ETF's

Post by samsoes » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:03 pm

Absolutely! ETF's are ideal for a Roth, especially if you can't make the Vanguard Mutual fund minimum. At your age, put 100% into VTI (Vanguard Total Stock Market ETF), which has an amazingly low ER of 0.03%. It tracks the CRSP US Total Market Index.

https://investor.vanguard.com/etf/profile/VTI

Holding VTI is perfectly fine for the long haul.
Welcome to the forum, by the way. :sharebeer
"Happiness Is Not My Companion" - Gen. Gouverneur K. Warren. | (Avatar is the statue of Gen. Warren atop Little Round Top @ Gettysburg National Military Park.)

shess

Post by shess » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:25 pm

Jmelo05 wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 2:27 pm