Threw me a curve [unexpected layoff]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
oldandintheway

Threw me a curve [unexpected layoff]

Post by oldandintheway » Thu Sep 26, 2019 5:28 pm

Hi All,
I'm new to Bogleheads, single, 63 years old, and I was recently laid off as part of a workforce reduction. I have an 11 week severance and a 6 month emergency fund. In addition, I have two 401K's, a small TDA IRA, a small TDA Roth IRA and $18,000 in an HSA with $10,500 of that (HSA) invested in an S&P 500 Index fund. My plan is to live frugally and try to remain positive while seeking gainful employment. At the same time I want to be realistic in that I may never find gainful employment again. I'm flexible as far as relocation goes and I've already placed my house on the MLS but I have not started an active job search yet and probably won't until I check the requirements for unemployment compensation. I will most likely need to begin withdrawing from 401K #2 (the only one that allows partial withdrawals) in the not too distant future, as well as start receiving dividend payments from 401K #1 instead of doing the DRIP. I can also start receiving 2 small pensions worth a total of $7780/yr in the next 11 months. I've always planned on waiting until I'm at least 68 before starting SS and that hasn't changed. The bad news is I don't have health or dental insurance and I can't imagine paying for it while I'm unemployed, but I'm open for feedback. I have budgeted $1700/month (maybe as low as $1550/month) excluding health insurance, to live on until I can figure things out. Last year I was in the 22% Federal tax bracket. I recently moved to Nevada so I'm not sure about my state tax rate yet. My home is paid off but my HOA is $158/month payable quarterly and of course there are quarterly property taxes. My car is paid off but it's 16 years old and starting to limp a bit. I don't currently have any debt. I guess f