Lower AA after purchasing forever home?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jfmiii

Lower AA after purchasing forever home?

Post by jfmiii » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:01 am

My wife and I (both 35) are looking to purchase our forever home (at least we hope!) in one of the best school districts in the country and certainly in the state. Price of home is $850-900k, with $19k tax bill (!!). HHI is $475k gross (his: 400k, hers 75k). Current porfolio is ~90/10 across all accounts. I have 500k sitting in a money market fund and will use $300k of that for a down payment on new home. PITI will be ~$4500/mo on a 600k mortgage. I work in finance and am susceptible to boom/bust cycles. I have been with my firm for 13 years, have good job security, but income could be variable in a recession. Going to 250k is not unreasonable. Wife is a teacher and tenured and can expect steady, small increases in salary.

Fidelity MM: 500k
His VG Taxable: 283k
His VG rIRA: 36k
His 401k: 305k
Her 403b: $45k
Her VG rIRA: $20k
Current Home Equity: ~$235k (490k property/255k rem mortgage)

After selling current home and purchasing new home, I will have ~400k in the my MM account. If I leave that uninvested as my emergency fund, should I lower my AA (80/20 or 70/30). If I lost my job tomorrow and wanted to pay off mortgage I could, but if I lost my job, it is probably coinciding with a massive downturn in the stock market. Am I being too conservative in my thinking? Ive ran the numbers and even if my income gets cut to 200-250k, we can afford the house, expenses, retirement savings, and college savings.

barnaclebob

Re: Lower AA after purchasing forever home?

Post by barnaclebob » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:11 am