Pensions and planning

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
PandaBear

Pensions and planning

Post by PandaBear »

So I have a question about pensions and retirement planning. Currently I have a goal of saving 25% of my gross income (I've been doing so for a few years now). However, I never really took my pension into account. That is to say, I save 25% of my gross and then I have the pension. The contributions to my pension come solely from my employer, I don't put anything into it. But I was wondering how to take it into account in relation to my goal? Is it irrelevant?

The reason I ask is because my wife is going to be starting a new job where she will also be eligible for a pension plan--except she will be contributing something like 7 - 8% of her gross into the plan. So basically, what I'm asking is this: if she's already contributing 7% of her gross into the pension, should I count that against the 25% goal or should I not count it at all?
anonenigma

Re: Pensions and planning

Post by anonenigma »

More savings is better.
Topic Author
PandaBear

Post by PandaBear »

RIght, more is more, I'm not arguing that point. What I'm wondering is how people work in pensions into their retirement planning. Especially since pensions are, by their very nature, not something you are managing nor do you have any control on the funding level and health of the fund.
trueblueky

Post by trueblueky »

It matters a lot whether the pension is from the federal government or from, say, Detroit or US Steel.
https://www.pbgc.gov/news/press/releases/pr19-09

I would count her 7% contribution toward the desired savings rate if it vests fairly quickly. The details are in the plan. If she leaves in three years, does she get her contributions back?
Reamus294

Post by Reamus294 »