First real job 401k. Please help dissect my options :)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
radzoo

First real job 401k. Please help dissect my options :)

Post by radzoo » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:46 pm

Starting a new job with an actual 401k and have been overwhelmed by the informational packets and wanted to get some expert opinion. This is my first real job so all is new to me but I have been lurking on the forums and trying to learn as much as possible prior to getting to this point. I would love some help on some of the nuances of my options.

I am just beginning my career and am comfortable leaning a little more agressive. Based on some books/blogs my ideal allocation would be around 70% US stocks, 15% international, 15% fixed/bonds. I was been hoping to find Vanguard funds but my options from my employer had mostly funds with higher ERs esp for any international options.

Also the fees seem high but are they high enough to just do the minimum contribution (employer matches 1:1 up to 4%, then 50% up to 6%). Was planning on deferring 10% income but would reconsider if there are better alternatives.

Fee Summary
- Administrative fees $50/year (1/12th deducted/mon)
- "Additional Plan expenses" – typically based on balance but may represent total cost divided by total participants.There is no approximation of how this is calculated or what this is!
- Distribution fee $50
- Loan maintenance fee for new loans: $12/quarter
- Loan setup fee: $100
- Qualified domestic relations order: $220.00/hr for each order reviewed
- Qualified domestic relations order processing fee: $350 for each order processed

Investment options
Short-term Fixed income
- Principal Stable Value Z Fund (ER 0.37, 10yr avg 1.85)
Fixed
- PIMCO Income Insitutional Fund (ER 0.74, 10 yr avg 10.43)
- Vanguard High-Yield Corporate Adm Fund (ER 0.13, 10 yr avg 9.49)
- PIMCO Total Return Instl Fund (ER 0.55, 10 yr avg 4.84)