Choosing between a muni bond fund or an individual muni bond?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Oilcans

Choosing between a muni bond fund or an individual muni bond?

Post by Oilcans »

:oops: I am fairly new to bond investing and know most of the pro's and con's of each but when comparing the annual interest for each I am left confused.

For example FTABX for which I have $150,000 invested pays me around $405 each month. which computes to about 3.6% per year.

With the individual bond, CUSIP # 603827VS2 which I also own and paid $5,626.45 plus premium of $21.53 for a total of $5,647.98. For a 5% coupon rate I am paid $125 semi annually. This computes to around 4.4% per year.

Based on this wouldn't I only invest in the individual bonds since it is providing around 1% more per year? What am I missing?

Thanks for any advice.
bluquark

Re: Choosing between a muni bond fund or an individual muni bond?

Post by bluquark »

The SEC yield of FTABX is 2.08%. Muni bonds don't earn anywhere near even 3.6%, and haven't for a long time, so you must be making accounting mistakes somewhere, although I find it hard to fathom where the mistake could be. Did you make sure to only count yields, not capital appreciation, for that 405$ a month? Is the payment schedule slower than monthly?

In my view, it's almost always taking uncompensated risk to invest in individual munis. If you want exact duration control, use these instead: https://www.ishares.com/us/strategies/b ... nd-ladders
70/30 portfolio | Equity: global market weight | Bonds: 20% long-term munis - 10% LEMB
bluquark

Post by bluquark »