2.5 million to invest for myself[35] and father[70]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
keenbrasss

2.5 million to invest for myself[35] and father[70]

Post by keenbrasss » Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:10 pm

My primary concerns are whether to treat this like a single portfolio, how to distribute funds across two personal accounts and tax advantaged accounts, and how to do rebalancing. My end-goal would be to retire early on passive income.

First off, I'm a beginner with investing, stats:
myself:
  • only child
    35yr, married and spouse is homemaker with no assets. kids soon, but not yet
    no debt, renting
    170k cash in HYSA
    145k in 401k
    55k in roth IRA (myself and spouse)
    135k in roboadvisor
    210k income, maxing out 401k (employer matched not listed) and 2 roth IRAs(backdoor), still some leftover
so that's 200k tax advantaged, 305k available for market
dad:
  • 70yr, excellent health and his dad lived to 95
    no debt, owns home (350k)
    250k in mutual funds (taxable account)
    2.1 million in HYSA
    75k annual post-tax surplus from pensions
I'm bouncing back and forth between 3 fund portfolio and a version of all-weather such as: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=206028 (TIPS, commodity, gold, etc)

Considering Dalio's post from today as well, doesn't fill me with hope for bond + stocks alone: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/paradigm ... ray-dalio/

Chances are high we'll be under the estate tax limit. My plan would be to keep separate vanguard accounts for the two of us, but in terms of fund distribution, should I treat it all like one portfolio? Put all the bonds and commodities into my tax advantaged accounts and most of the stocks in his account for cost-basis step up. While I realize I cannot exchange money for tax purposes, would it make sense for me to give my dad my 305k just to allow for managing all the post-tax investments in a single vanguard account?