Poor financial advisor performance

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
jjodod

Poor financial advisor performance

Post by jjodod » Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:25 pm

Hi Folks,

I am a 62 year old male. I’ve been investing since the mid-1980s. Over that time I have made just about every classic investing mistake possible. At some point I read about John Bogle and the power of indexing. His argument made complete sense to me and I became a convert. Unfortunately, I had a selection of Vanguard funds and traded in and out, usually selling low and buying high. I’ve often said that if I had invested everything in the IDX 500 Fund and kept investing in only that I would be retired by now. I tried using the Vanguard financial advisor but was dissatisfied with the results of their recommendations.

Eventually, in 2014 my wife and I decided to go with a certified no-fee financial advisor. We interviewed about a half dozen individuals and firms. We decided to go with a firm that seemed a good fit. They also had the lowest AUM rate at 0.9%. Over the past 5 years we have been satisfied with their service but less so with our portfolio performance. We meet with them for a review every 6 months.

At our most recent meeting we reviewed the performance of our portfolio as a whole. Our asset allocation is 60/40 stock/bond mutual funds only. The performance through 6/30/2019 was 5.2% with about $1.52 million under management. An internet search of a benchmark for 60/40 allocation over the same time period was 7.75%. This represents approximately a 30% underperformance relative to the benchmark. We feel this is unacceptable and are in a real dilemma about what to do.

We feel there are 3 possible choices:

1. Stay with the same advisor and discuss with him our dissatisfaction.
2. Leave and find a new advisor.
3. Go back to doing it myself.