24 Year Old With Options

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
KeystoneK

24 Year Old With Options

Post by KeystoneK » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:55 pm

Hello everyone. I have been reading this forum and wiki for the last 8 months and have learned so much. I graduated from college in May of 2018 and have been working on getting my life/finances in order. Looking for some guidance on my next steps after I completed my goal of an emergency fund. There are a few questions at the bottom of this that fall into the range of Personal Finance (rule breaking!), but I wanted to keep it in one thread.

Salary: $58,500

Career: Supply Chain Management (Salary outlook is good! Likely would never make more than $150,000 unless I really move up the ladder)

Goal: Living frugally while not missing out on experiences and retiring “early” at 50. In reality, I would like to go back to school at some point for a Masters and be an adjunct Professor in "retirement."

Roth IRA ($6,000)
- 25% US Large Cap (Fidelity ZERO Large Cap Index Fund)
- 50% US Small/Mid Cap (Fidelity ZERO Extended Market Index Fund)
- 25% International (Fidelity ZERO International Index Fund)

Traditional 401K with 6% match ($2,500 right now)
- 10% US Bond at 0.020% tracking Bloomberg Barclays US Aggregate Bond TR
- 50% US Large Cap Equity Index Fund at 0.010% tracking Russell 1000 TR
- 40% US Small/Mid Cap Equity Index Fund at 0.075% tracking Russell 2500 TR

Emergency Fund (1 year)
- $16,500 in Ally in a savings account returning ~2.1%
- $5,000 in Checking/Savings at Bank of America

Debt ($20,200 in total student loans)
- $3,400 @ 3.61%
- $2,266 @ 3.61%
- $5,242 @ 3.51%
- $2,053 @ 3.51%
- $5,243 @ 4.2%
- $1,994 @ 4.2%

Expenses ($1,800 a month)