How to best unload shares?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
DE11

How to best unload shares?

Post by DE11 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:08 pm

Hi all,

I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I'm very new to investing and am asking for a relative:

A retired 63yo relative of mine inherited ~300 shares of P&G stock about 15 years ago. It's in an account at P&G which is set up to auto reinvest the dividends. He has ~430 shares now, which as of today is worth around $48k.

He wants to sell them, but his tax person says it will be a nightmare tax wise. What would be the best course of action to sell the shares as tax efficiently as possible? Any other advice?

Thanks in advance for your help!

dm200

Re: How to best unload shares?

Post by dm200 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:16 pm

DE11 wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:08 pm
Hi all,
I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I'm very new to investing and am asking for a relative:
A retired 63yo relative of mine inherited ~300 shares of P&G stock about 15 years ago. It's in an account at P&G which is set up to auto reinvest the dividends. He has ~430 shares now, which as of today is worth around $48k.
He wants to sell them, but his tax person says it will be a nightmare tax wise. What would be the best course of action to sell the shares as tax efficiently as possible? Any other advice?
If he regularly (or intermittently) donate to charity - make a donation of all the shares.

Perhaps donate to a DAF and spread the money actually going to his charities over some number of years. Very, very simple - tax wise and in general.

Thesaints

Post by Thesaints » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:49 pm

DE11 wrote:
Hi all,

There are three different nightmares: