Dumb to investing [Portfolio Feedback]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Iteb

Dumb to investing [Portfolio Feedback]

Post by Iteb » Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:44 am

Let me start by saying that investing has been confusing to me, so when I received the name of my investment advisor from my accountant and read he is a CFP, I thought I'd leave it up to him. Now I'm starting to think that maybe I should do something different.

Last year and now this year mutual funds have matured and he's sent me over new funds to buy with new sales loads. Each time the fees is around 2-4%. I'm not seeing any deferred charges. I didn't realize that these funds would mature and that he'd be having me buy new ones all the time. I've been investing since 2013 and my average return has been about 5%. Here is the break down of the funds fees per year and how much I have invested in each one. I'm not sure if he gets something from that the funds fees too?

CPXAX: Cohen & Steers Preferred Sec & Inc A
1.16%
$27,173.15

SDGAX: DWS Capital Growth A
0.94%
$19,781.38

FATEX: Fidelity Advisor Technology T US Stock
1.31%
$17,936.45

FACTX: Fidelity Advisor Health Care T US Stock
1.32%
$15,516.33

FNICX: Fidelity Advisor New Insights C
1.80%
$23,133.38

FTSDX: Fidelity Advisor Strategic Div & Inc T US Stock
1.26%
$19,025.14

Money Market
FDRXX: Fidelity Cash Reserves US Bond
0.38%
$20,561.32

40174C315: Guggenheim Defined Portfolios Unit 1816 S&P Divid Aristocrats Select 25 Strategy Port Ser 13 Monthly Reinvest
$44,167.24

40174H231: Guggenheim Defined Portfolios Unit 1885 S&P Divid Aristocrats Select 25 Strategy Port Ser 15 Monthly Reinvest
Other
$15,924.98

I'm not sure what the fees are on the Guggenheims. I was so busy with my business before I really didn't have time to look into this kind of stuff and every time I tried I just got confused and since I wasn't losing money I didn't think it was a big deal.