$100,000 irrevocable trust

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
50ftqueenie

$100,000 irrevocable trust

Post by 50ftqueenie » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:32 am

I'm very new to investing. I recently became the trustee for my parents' $100,000 irrevocable trust. I think I would like to have about 2/3 of it in long term tax efficient index funds (VTIAX and VTSAX), but would like at least 1/3 in something more liquid in case my parents need the money. Should I should put it in the money market? I was wondering about pros and cons of investing in bonds, either Total Bond Market versus municipal bonds. I live in a high tax state, fyi. Thanks so much for any advice!

prudent

Re: $100,000 irrevocable trust

Post by prudent » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:40 am

Who are the beneficiaries of the trust? What does the trust say about disbursements?

Gill

Post by Gill » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:44 am

Are your parents the beneficiaries of the trust? What are the current assets of the trust? What is the duration of the trust? What is the purpose of the trust? Who is the remainderman (ultimate beneficiary) when the trust terminates? What does the trust say about investments? How old are the beneficiaries? Can both principal and income be used for the beneficiaries? Lots of questions before anyone can answer intelligently.
Gill
Cost basis is redundant. One has a basis in an investment | One advises and gives advice | One should follow the principle of investing one's principal

neilpilot

Post by neilpilot » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:51 am

You want to put about one third of the trust in something "more liquid" than VTIAX and VTSAX? Both of these funds trade at high volume and can be sold and settlement available in a couple of days. Isn't that sufficiently liquid?

ResearchMed

Post by ResearchMed » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:57 am

neilpilot wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:51 am