Reorganizing taxable account for home down payment

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Biodex

Reorganizing taxable account for home down payment

Post by Biodex » Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:10 pm

Hi all,

First time poster here. I've been scanning the message board for similar topics and looked at the "Asking portfolio questions" thread to get a sense of what info to include here. I'm fairly new to personal investing, but have come to enjoy it. I am hoping to learn from the wisdom of the message board.

Here's my situation:
I've recently moved all of my and my spouses retirement accounts and joint taxable account to Fidelity. Previously, we had a financial advisor who had good intentions, but the funds that we were invested in were too expensive and the management fees didn't seem worth it. I've been able to reshuffle our Roth and Roth 401k easily because there are no tax decisions to make with those accounts. However, I'm having a much harder time with our taxable account.

I would like to use our taxable account to fund our home down payment. Our time horizon is 3-5 years and the goal of the account is ~80-100k. The time horizon is a bit squishy and depends heavily on whether we stay in the Northeast (expensive!) or head to the Midwest (much cheaper). I would like to be pretty conservative with the asset allocation (~70% income, ~30% growth), but I don't know what types of funds/ETFs I should use for the account. Should it be mostly Muni bonds and some equity ETFs (for their tax efficiency) or should I put some of it into things like CDs and total stock market funds? I want to avoid being highly taxed when I sell and buy new funds for the account, but even after reading the tax efficient fund placement article multiple times, I'm still not sure how to apply it to my situation.