Mega Backdoor Roth - How to setup?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
KiloRomeo

Mega Backdoor Roth - How to setup?

Post by KiloRomeo » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:47 pm

Long story short, during the interview phase my new employer said they offered a Mega Back Door Roth. Now that the dust is settled, it appears no one in the HR department really knows what that means or how to set it up.

They keep saying "we offer after tax contributions with a roth in plan conversion".

Do I just need to tell them to contribute X of my paycheck to hit $56k (both employer + employee) and then tell them to do the Roth conversion immediately every paycheck?

I've never done this before so I'm hoping you guys can help me help them figure this out. Thank you!

life in slices

Re: Mega Backdoor Roth - How to setup?

Post by life in slices » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:24 pm

KiloRomeo wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:47 pm
Long story short, during the interview phase my new employer said they offered a Mega Back Door Roth. Now that the dust is settled, it appears no one in the HR department really knows what that means or how to set it up.

They keep saying "we offer after tax contributions with a roth in plan conversion".

Do I just need to tell them to contribute X of my paycheck to hit $56k (both employer + employee) and then tell them to do the Roth conversion immediately every paycheck?

I've never done this before so I'm hoping you guys can help me help them figure this out. Thank you!
Here are a couple of good places to start:

Here is the wiki article on it:
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/After-tax_401(k)

An older but decent blogs on it:
https://thefinancebuff.com/rollover-aft ... -roth.html
https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/the-m ... -roth-ira/

retiredjg

Post by retiredjg » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:30 pm

KiloRomeo wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:47 pm