Individual Investment - Please help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
fromashes12

Individual Investment - Please help

Post by fromashes12 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:43 am

Hi All,

I am a 28-year old that will be moving across the country to California at the start of 2020. I currently work as a Federal Account Manager for a large tech business, but I will be leaving this job to pursue another field. I'm just trying to figure out if there's any advice to how to handle my money for an unpredictable future considering my move/ reduced salary.

Current Salary - 47k w/ commission and this can range from 47k - 70k

Debt:

Car - $6,000.00
School Loan - $20,121.25
Credit Card Debt - $0.00

Liquid Assets (Checking/Savings) - $3,816.49 ( 6 - Month Expenses equate to 6-8k)
Stock Market - $7,253.86
Long-term savings - $7,044.59
401k - $9,000.00

1. I currently have some stock in my company that I cashed out and started to solo invest in some companies. I should probably stop this and get an advisor? Any recommendations?

2. Should I move my long-term savings? It is currently receiving a 2.22% interest this can fluctuate. I'm thinking about moving this into a Betterment account.

3. What should I do with my current 401k? Roll it over into a Traditional or Roth IRA?
I will more than likely be making way less money!

- Ashe
Last edited by fromashes12 on Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

sjt

Re: Individual Investment - Please help

Post by sjt » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:47 am

1. I currently have some stock in my company that I cashed out and started to solo invest in some companies. I should probably stop this and get an advisor? Any recommendations? You don't need an advisor. Read "If You can" PDF ebook (search google), and the Wiki on this site