Having both Vanguard Target and TIAA-CREF Lifecycle funds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
brucey

Having both Vanguard Target and TIAA-CREF Lifecycle funds

Post by brucey » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:29 pm

My employer offers both in a 403b:

Vanguard Institutional Target Retirement 2045 Fund
TIAA-CREF Lifecycle Index 2045 Fund (Institutional)

As a novice, I was having a tough time choosing between the two, so I chose both, splitting my contributions to each down the middle.

Is there a potential disadvantage to having both? Or advantage?

The expense ratios are just about the same. Vanguard looks to be performing slightly better.

I'm looking for set it and forget, but I'm wondering if I'd be better off choosing one rather than both.

student

Re: Having both Vanguard Target and TIAA-CREF Lifecycle funds

Post by student » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:52 pm

Different target date funds may have different asset allocations. For example, I think Fidelity is quite aggressive and American Century is more conservative. Given the ER are similar, pick one that fits your asset allocation. There is nothing wrong with what you are doing, by investing in both. In fact, you may learn something (if so desired) by comparing the two as you invest. Since they are in a 403b, there is no tax consequence if you decide to move from Vanguard to TIAA or vice versa.

YoungBogle

Post by YoungBogle » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:16 pm

I agree with student, also would like to add I would imagine Vanguard has a higher proportion of intl stocks in the stocks allocation than most other firms TDF.

fortfun

Post by fortfun » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:41 pm

According to this PDF
https://www.tiaa.org/public/pdf/ffs/886315597.pdf