Question about RMDs from inherited IRA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
CashConfessions

Question about RMDs from inherited IRA

Post by CashConfessions » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:46 pm

Hello, all.

Earlier this year, my grandmother (97) passed away. I was named the beneficiary of her IRA, valued at approx. $65K. She had automatic monthly withdrawals to meet her RMD, and didn't come anywhere near her total RMD (~$7K).

My understanding from talking with Fidelity is that I need to take her full RMD by the end of this year. I'm a high earner, and would rather not take the tax hit, but it doesn't seem that there's anyway to distribute the RMDs to her estate (which would be at a very low tax).

Can you please confirm or correct my understanding?

Thank you.

jebmke

Re: Question about RMDs from inherited IRA

Post by jebmke » Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:51 pm

I'm not an expert but when my FIL passed away, I think the executor had to arrange for the RMD to be made to the estate to satisfy HIS RMD for the tax year of his death before the IRA was split out and transferred to the beneficiaries. Once the transfer was made, the beneficiaries had to do their own RMD the next year (and subsequent years thereafter).

Edit: I went back and found that this was the case. For the year he died, there is no RMD on our tax return. For the year after he died, we reported my spouse's RMD -- an "inherited IRA." I'm assuming that his RMD appeared on the 1065 filed for the estate but I don't have a soft copy of that.
When you discover that you are riding a dead horse, the best strategy is to dismount.

Flora

Post by Flora » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:21 pm

Consider disclaiming the inherited IRA so that it goes to your child/children if you gave any.

megabad

Post by megabad » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:39 pm

CashConfessions wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 4:46 pm