Can't do this alone-need a financial planner-please help!

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
novice111

Can't do this alone-need a financial planner-please help!

Post by novice111 »

hi,
i've just started reading bogleheads and taylor larimore's book and i KNOW:

1. i can't manage my finances successfully in the short or long term by myself
investing in index funds seems simple enough but managing the tax implications, different asset classes etc is not something i'll ever be sure and confident of doing in this lifetime.
I'm 35 and financially illiterate- it will take me too long to learn and i'll lose valuable time.

i'm new to this country and i can barely understand all the differences between Roth IRA , IRA, 401k etc
How to set up a college fund for kids?
Can a HSA grow your money?
What's 403b?
What's FSA?
is life insurance a good investment tool?
What else is out there that i don't know that i'll probably learn about too late?
i must be really stupid because all this stuff is really hard to grasp for me- no amount of articles i can read will clearly explain it-i need a person who can answer according to my situation.

2. Last year i put about $100k in an ameriprise brokerage account and $35k this year in a self 401k
luckily no life or disability insurance bought yet

the financial advisor is a CFP and fiduciary, and also used by my cousin who's a lawyer from Yale who specializes in financial fraud and writes for nerdwallet for god's sake

but the management fees and the lack of index funds in my portfolio and the stuff i'm reading on bogleheads is alarming me.

i really need somebody i can trust to tell me exactly what to do with my money, make a financial plan and sort out all the tax-implications.
i CANNOT do it by myself- i would never be sure i'm doing the right thing, and i have a demanding job and am a single mom with two kids.

What do i do ? i feel so lost :(
longleaf