Need help with mother’s annuity

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
planesman

Need help with mother’s annuity

Post by planesman » Mon May 13, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi everyone. New to bogleheads.

I have some investing experience with equities and traditional and Roth IRAs. But I have little knowledge of annuities.
My mom remarried when dad died about 22 years ago. Her current husband is still living but in poor health. Mom is in good health at 88 years old. I recently learned that when her husband dies, she will not be eligible to receive health insurance and pension payments from his former emplyer. Her only income will be social security of $1300/mo. Neither of them has long term health care insurance.
The only investment is each of them has a $100,000 premium annuity with their seperate children as beneficiaries. I believe the interest is 3% with 1.25% annual management fee. Not a good deal. There must be a variable portion beacause the annuity has gained 33k since they were opened in July 2012. After 6 years there is no settlement charge. The present value of mom’s is about $134k and cash out value approx $133k. She can start receiving payments when she is 91!
If she lives to be 101, the total payments amount to less than the amount she would get if she just cashed out now. I guess my question is what is best way to invest the $133k and do I need to get the assets out of her name? I thought I would put in an account under my name and invest it for her future use but then Any gains could raise my personal income tax by putting me in a higher tax bracket. I don’t know what to do. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

PS Should this be in the non-investing personal finance sub forum?

Dottie57

Re: Need help with mother’s annuity

Post by Dottie57 » Mon May 13, 2019 5:14 pm

planesman wrote:
Mon May 13, 2019 4:20 pm