Disabled, Disillusioned, but Significant Assets - Move Overseas, Offshore?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
investfrugal

Disabled, Disillusioned, but Significant Assets - Move Overseas, Offshore?

Post by investfrugal » Thu Apr 25, 2019 6:31 pm

I need some help thinking through what options we may have, if any, for overseas, offshore investing etc.

Unfortunately, I became disabled several years ago. Despite overwhelming medical evidence by my providers, I was denied SSDI (no LTDI). In addition, the delay in processing my claim was quite lengthy and as such, my work credits expired. What has been most upsetting throughout this process, is being treated like a common thief out to cheat the system. Both my husband and I have graduate degrees and I worked as a CPA for several years before becoming disabled. Like many here, we pay a goodly sum in taxes and consider ourselves good citizens. We have dutifully paid into Social Security through the years, but assumed that if a disability were to occur, we would be awarded monies accordingly. I now look at the $10K withheld annually for Social Security and Medicare from my husband’s paycheck and simply shake my head. My health conditions are severe so being awarded Medicare was of critical importance, especially in light of potential changes in the ACA. Bottom line, I feel like I have been lied to, cheated and no longer feel the same about this country or my citizenship.

I am fortunate that my spouse earns a very good living and due to extreme frugality, we have a comfortable nest egg of $3M. We both have ROTHS ($150K - $200K each), spouse has a 401K (@$550K) and the remaining $2M is in a joint account. All but the 401K are in index funds, DFA and Vanguard. We hired a reputable financial planner several years ago when I became unable to properly manage the investments due to my fading cognitive skills.