Fire my financial advisor now or later? (recent windfall help needed)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
investingdeacon

Fire my financial advisor now or later? (recent windfall help needed)

Post by investingdeacon » Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:45 am

Hello Bogleheads,

This is my first post. I'm new to investing and thankful to live in an age where great ideas can be shared freely on the internet.

My question pertains to how I ought to invest a recent windfall of $150k. Right now that money is sitting in a Merrill Lynch money market brokerage waiting for my action.

I have connections to Merrill Lynch through my family, who have used them as investment advisors for generations. Because of this, my AUM fee is supposedly much lower than a typical client of my current net worth, as I'm only being charged 0.75%. I know that long term my best strategy is to probably go it on my own, but as I'm still learning about investing, I'm not sure I'm completely comfortable doing that yet.

I have begun reading the Bogleheads Guide to Investing, JL Collins stock series blog, listen to ChooseFI, etc. I am slowly absorbing all of these things. Let's get right to my questions. Before, here are some quick stats that may be helpful for you to know.

- 32 years old, married w/ 2 young kids
- Earn high 6 figures
- Only debt is my mortgage, which is high 6 figures but interest is 3.75%
- Already funded my 401k for the year
- Fully funded my HSA and invested it in VTI
- In the past month I invested $60K in VTSAX and $25k in VBTLX on my own in my Vanguard taxable brokerage account (which I realize doing the VBTLX may not have been the smartest to put there, still learning). Financial advisor doesn't know this.

Here is what my financial advisor is proposing:
- open 529 accounts for my kids, put $4k each kid from each spouse to get things going