Help: Backdoor Roth on Vanguard

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Thesaints

Help: Backdoor Roth on Vanguard

Post by Thesaints » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:29 pm

I have been fighting with this for a few years.
DW Vanguard account is in this new brokerage structure.
That means she has a Traditional IRA account and a Roth IRA account each with its own settlement fund.
When we convert from the traditional IRA to the Roth to execute a backdoor, we are forced to exchange from the Traditional IRA fund into the Roth settlement fund, wait past the closing of a trading day and only then we can move the money within the Roth IRA, from the settlement fund to its final destination.

Is there a way to do a single transaction ? It seems absurd that Vanguard would force us to waste our time this way.
Thanks in advance to whomever can explain to me what we are doing wrong.

Silk McCue

Re: Help: Backdoor Roth on Vanguard

Post by Silk McCue » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:04 pm

When I convert by performing a sell to buy exchange the funds go straight from the tIRA into the funds I designate in the Roth. I don’t have to do a two step tango. That could be because I already hold the desired funds in the Roth and therefore can simply select them.

Cheers

Topic Author
Thesaints

Post by Thesaints » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:11 pm

Not sure I understand. When exchanging the tIRA I don’t get a choice of where in the Roth that money will go. It just says “Roth IRA brokerage account” and that means its settlement fund.

Silk McCue

Post by Silk McCue » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:40 pm

I just walked through the Exchange (Sell to buy) steps. Once I choose the Roth account as the Target to receive funds it has me click a hyperlink to perform a conversion. I have zero in my IRA settlement fund which is shown and the accurate reflection of the other holdings in the IRA is shown for which I can enter the number of shares to be converted.