Tax treatment of Variable Annuity

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
tc101

Tax treatment of Variable Annuity

Post by tc101 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:25 pm

I am 69, retired, in a low tax bracket. I have a variable annuity at Vanguard. It is $27K invested in a short term bond fund. This is something my father set up for me when I was a child, and that I transferred to Vanguard 25 years ago. It is a small part of my fixed income investments. Most other fixed income is in an IRA.

I don't need the money. Should I just let it sit in the annuity? I read somewhere here that variable annuities, even at vanguard, are not a good deal because of higher expenses. But I wonder about the taxes..
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Mel Lindauer

Re: Tax treatment of Variable Annuity

Post by Mel Lindauer » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:56 pm

tc101 wrote:
Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:25 pm
I am 69, retired, in a low tax bracket. I have a variable annuity at Vanguard. It is $27K invested in a short term bond fund. This is something my father set up for me when I was a child, and that I transferred to Vanguard 25 years ago. It is a small part of my fixed income investments. Most other fixed income is in an IRA.

I don't need the money. Should I just let it sit in the annuity? I read somewhere here that variable annuities, even at vanguard, are not a good deal because of higher expenses. But I wonder about the taxes..
All gains withdrawn from your VA would be taxed at your ordinary tax bracket rate, not as cap gains. Partial withdrawals are fully taxed until all gains have been removed and taxed. After that, withdrawing the original investment is tax-free.

On the other hand, if you annuitize, the gains and return of principle are pro-rated for each payment, so only part of each payment is taxable.
Best Regards - Mel | | Semper Fi

FiveK