DFA, iShares edge Factor, Vanguard decisions

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
caklim00

DFA, iShares edge Factor, Vanguard decisions

Post by caklim00 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:56 pm

39 Year old here with an IPS that is 85/15 Equity/Fixed Income, 50/50 Domestic/Foreign, 75/25 Dev/EM (for funds that are split between Dev/EM) and tilt as much to SCV as possible given 401k constraints/costs. Ultimately based on 401k contraints I hold a lot of S&P 600 and MSCI ACWI (similar to VEU). I've been tilting to US SCV with VBR, VIOV/SLYV, and DFFVX (via prior employer 401k). I've been tilting on the International side using FNDC for Developed and DGS for EM (I do have a small amount of DFA Intl SC (DFISX) and DFA EM Value (DFEVX).

Utimately my portfolio seems heavy in US SCV and International Large cap. I've been monitoring the multifactor fund space for awhile now and am considering the jump. Also, I would like to smooth out my Small/Large distribution a bit between US and Foreign. I'm really trying to think about everything in totality and want to see what others think about the following:

1) International SC
I've been focused on FNDC, but ISCF appears to potentially be a better option. I also have access to DFS Intl Small (not Value). Bid/Ask on ISCF stil frightens me a bit, but this would be an IRA holding so I would not be selling in and out. Or I could just throw in the towel on Value tilting due to costs and just use VSS with an ER of .12

2) EM