Financial Planner/Fiduciary and Value--FOMO

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
cresive

Financial Planner/Fiduciary and Value--FOMO

Post by cresive » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:57 am

Hello All,

I have searched this forum for previous posts on this topic. I don't use the search function well, so I apologize if this has been covered hundreds of times before. I couldn't find anything so here I go: I have been struggling with whether or not to seek personal financial advice from a fiduciary. I have been managing my financial affairs for over seven years (I didn't pay attention before that). I am about 10 years away from retirement and have been considering seeking the council of a professional financial planner. I have called a couple in my new area and they have been, to say the least, unhelpful. One wouldn’t even consider me unless I had over $1M in manageable assets. Of course, when she found out I did, I couldn’t get her off the phone.

With the bad taste I have in my mouth from my experience, I am wondering if I actually need professional advice, or am I suffering from a semi-rational fear that I am not 100% optimized in my strategy. My intention was to meet with a fee-only fiduciary, who could go over my accounts, game plan, etc. and give me his impression of my overall strategy, be it growth potential, tax optimization, or any other areas I haven’t thought about.