Please review and critique my portfolio.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
ElmoHongZito

Please review and critique my portfolio.

Post by ElmoHongZito » Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:12 pm

I would be so grateful if I can get a temperature check from some of you BH gurus on how I am self-managing my current portfolio. I just turned 37 and the asset allocation I am currently aiming to get to by the end of the year is 70/30. I am still a newbie at this but have read a wealth of information on the forum since I discovered it. I like simplicity and something that is manageable and doesn't require me to constantly be up to speed on what the market is doing.

As of right now I keep all bonds in tax-advantaged accounts and based on how much I have among those accounts is how I determine how much to move from my bank account to stock indexes every month to be at that 70/30 by year end. So my overall invested portfolio size is always dependent on the size of the tax-advantaged accounts size and the rest of my cash savings sits in the bank.

Based on my current funding schedule it looks like by the end of this year my 70/30 investment portfolio will be roughly 780k and I should still have a large amount funds in the bank which is probably not a great strategy. I probably want to move a portion of those funds to my Vanguard money market fund or a new money market account elsewhere. Please let me know your thoughts. Thank you all in advance. Here is the breakdown...

BONDS
Our IRA's..... 17k (all in Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Admiral Shares)
My 401k...... 149k (11k in VANG TOT BD MKT INST (VBTIX) and the rest in Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Fund Institutional Plus Shares(VBMPX))
HSA funds.....12k (just found out it is not invested and am working to move to new employer HSA and invest in a total bond market fund)
Wife's 403B ...17k (all in Vanguard Intermediate Bond Index Admiral (VBILX))