Help choosing 401k funds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
ososnilknarf

Help choosing 401k funds

Post by ososnilknarf »

Hello,
This is my first post here. I am 49 and have been investing for 10+ years entirely in retirement accounts (401k's, IRAs, Roths). I'm currently in a mix of funds and individual stocks, split between my wife's accounts and my accounts.
I've been tracking my returns closely for over 10 years now, and I find that I've slightly lagged the S&P returns when including dividends (you can look that up for any time period with this nifty online calculator: https://dqydj.com/sp-500-return-calculator/).
So, given that fact, I've finally come to accept that it isn't worth the effort of managing a portfolio of individual stocks when I'm not even going to beat the index.
And as I'm turning 49 this month, I figure maybe its time I added at least some bonds to my portfolio. I'm comfortable with being fairly aggressive, maybe an 80/20 mix.

Hence, I'm here to ask for help from the bogleheads! :)

Current retirement assets

His 401k at Merrill Lynch
$117k Pre-tax
$21k Roth

His Rollover IRA at Ally
$85k

His Rollover IRA(2) at Ally
$27k

His Roth IRA at Ally
$43k

Her Roth IRA at Ally
$23k

Her SIMPLE 5305 IRA at Fidelity
$9k

Total of All Accounts:
$325k

Contributions

New annual Contributions
$6000 his Roth
$6000 her Roth
$18k his 401k employee contribution
$5k his 401k employer match
$7200 her SIMPLE IRA employee contribution
$3600 her SIMPLE IRA employer match

Funds available in his 401(k)

Equity/Stock
American Beacon Small Cap Value R6 AASRX 0.81
American Funds Growth Fund of Amer R6 RGAGX 0.33
American Funds Washington Mutual R6 RWMGX 0.29
Baron Growth Instl BGRIX 1.04
BlackRock Equity Indx Fund Non-Lending O 0.13
DFA Global Real Estate Securities Port DFGEX 0.37
Hartford International Opportunities R5 IHOTX 0.83
Invesco Equity and Income R6 IEIFX 0.40