29 year old taking over my previously managed investments

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Pokerguy123

29 year old taking over my previously managed investments

Post by Pokerguy123 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:28 pm

Hello Boggleheads forum! First post, I hope I get the formatting correct.

I am a 29 year old professional poker player. I have been doing that for 10 years now, minus the year that I took off to focus on cryptocurrency investing. I entered the world of cryptocurrency with $250,000~ that I had saved from poker over the years, and managed to leave with over $2,000,000. This was in mid 2018. Since it was more money than I was used to handling, I took it to financial advisers at Merrill, who I worked with for about 6 months. During that time, I researched as much as I could about traditional markets and investing, and finally decided to part ways with them and do it on my own. After setting aside money that I owe in taxes on my cryptocurrency gains, I have $1,240,000, most of which is in investments that Merrill made, which are now transferred to my self directed account.

I set $250,000 aside for poker and life expenses. This is probably a lot more than I need for the two things, but I decided to be conservative so that there is basically no chance that I need to dip into my investments barring a massive emergency.

That leaves $990,000. Merrill already invested a large chunk of that, but most of it is in investments that can be liquidated if that's the way that I should go. Their strategy seemed pretty conservative for someone my age and with my risk tolerance, but they seemed to not want to put all the money in play in this market. Since gaining control of the accounts, I have put about $100k of the cash that they were sitting on into US index funds, and $25k into gold.