New Member: Need Advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Dreamer716

New Member: Need Advice

Post by Dreamer716 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:39 am

Hi everyone, was referred to this forum by a member asking on what I should do once my student loan repayments are completed. I'm a 2nd year pharmacist who has devoted the past year aggressively paying off student loans. I should be completed, knock on wood, first week of July of this year. I have not enrolled in a retirement plan or anything. I was wondering what I should once my student loans are paid off. I'm currently single, 26, and live with my parents (not changing anytime lol, sons dont move out of their homes in my culture). I currently make 3300 every paycheck bi-weekly after taxes. I read somewhere I should contribute $192 into a ROTH IRA, $111 into HSA per paycheck, and $711 per month into a 401k plan that my company matches 5%. Is this a sound plan? Whats the benefit of contributing to a HSA?

Blake7

Re: New Member: Need Advice

Post by Blake7 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:47 am

Congrats on almost being debt-free.

Here’s what I would do, considering you have a good income little else to worry about debt/expense wise except your student loan (I presume, as you didn’t mention other debts):

1) While finishing paying off your debt, make sure you have at least a small emergency fund in place, a few $k. Also consider putting $5.5k into a Roth for 2018 (you have until April 15 this year to do it, and you’ll loose that opportunity forever if you don’t). You can put $6k/year for 2019 into a Roth (I’d do that later in the year after the loan is paid off). Either all at once or spread out through the year, it doesn’t matter that much, just take advantage of maxing it out.