Please any advice? Asset allocation out of whack I think

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Bug

Please any advice? Asset allocation out of whack I think

Post by Bug » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:01 pm

Hi everyone. What a great forum. I need some asset allocation advice. I’m 58 yrs old and single. Mortgage free and debt free with a primary residence worth about 300k. I own two other homes worth about 150k combined that I rent, but am thinking of selling those. Just tired of the landlord business. I was a realtor for 27 yrs. Since I retired from the business a few years ago.I’m currently making about 25k per year for the school Dist with my health ins 75% paid for. I live comfortably below my means by choice. All my funds are with vanguard except a 15k emergency fund. I will also get a very small pension when I retire along with ss when the time comes. Approx 8 yrs or so. I make max contributions to the Roth every year.

taxable account $325,500
Prime mm - 151k
Vg Tot stock index vtsax $177k

Roth IRA $208k
Mm- 7k
Vanguard div app. Vdadx 35k
Vg Tot stock index vtsax 45k
T Rowe price health sciences 50k
Akrex focus fund akrex 70k

Combined accounts total $536k
Vtsax 41%
Akrex13%
Mm29%
Vdadx 6.5%
T rowe price health science 9%

I know I should have bonds but what should they replace? I have no global either. I keep the money market just in case I want to buy a house to flip and I really don’t know where to invest it where it could stay somewhat liquid. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Also, the Bogleheads podcast has become my favorite

Bug

nedsaid

Re: Please any advice? Asett allocation out of whack I think

Post by nedsaid » Sat Jan 12, 2019 10:14 am