Requesting Guidance - 29 y/o military investor

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Kragfromprague

Requesting Guidance - 29 y/o military investor

Post by Kragfromprague » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:04 pm

First time poster seeking advice with regard to my ~2 week old Vanguard Roth IRA Account and Vanguard Taxable Brokerage Acount
:sharebeer
I am an Active Duty Military Officer (6 years in) who opted into the new Blended Retirement System (401k match 5%) early on and I now max my Roth Thrift Savings Plan (TSP) monthly.

What I currently hold:

- 50k in the military Roth Thrift Savings Plan (70% held in C Fund / 30% held in S Fund) with a new monthly Contribution Allocation of 60%C/40%S going in. The military matches 5% monthly on top of my contributions to meet the 19k maximum for 2019 401k. Should I possibly be more diversified to include more International (I Fund) into my portfolio while it is considered relatively cheap now?

- I also had a Roth IRA with USAA (~15k) but after learning of their high expenses, I moved it over and rolled it to Vanguard’s Roth IRA last week (monies were in SWPPX, transfer to Vanguard still pending, so seeking advice for how to allocate that Vanguard Roth IRA once it hits next week) for an aggressive 29 y/o investor...I can max contributions now for 2019 as well, right? 2018 is maxed already.

- I have an Emergency Fund with USAA (~25k) that I’m looking to move into a potentially high yield savings account, but still have relatively accessible, as my USAA savings account only yields 0.10-0.20% and I want it a bit more “out of sight” so I don’t touch it, but would like to take advantage of a 2.00-2.25% rate. Any advice on that end would be extremely appreciated. A few I’ve read up on include AMEX, Barclays, Ally, Allegiant and Synchrony.