Monthly RMD from VG

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Indymac1941

Monthly RMD from VG

Post by Indymac1941 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:24 pm

Have just moved to all index investing and am curious as to whether my RMD for 2019 should come from the 60% bond portion, from the 40% equity side, or should it balanced as well? I am a newbie to the forum and am open to suggestions!

sport

Re: Monthly RMD from VG

Post by sport » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:37 pm

Welcome to the forum.
My choice would be to make a decision each month, taking the withdrawal from the fund which is over my target allocation. For example, if the allocation becomes 39/61, take it from the bond fund; if it becomes 41/59, take it from stocks. This also lets you make QCD donations if you are older than 70.5. Setting up automatic monthly withdrawals is convenient, but it restricts what you can do. The calculation outlined above would only take a minute with a calculator.

friar1610

Post by friar1610 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:20 pm

sport wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:37 pm
Welcome to the forum.
My choice would be to make a decision each month, taking the withdrawal from the fund which is over my target allocation. For example, if the allocation becomes 39/61, take it from the bond fund; if it becomes 41/59, take it from stocks. This also lets you make QCD donations if you are older than 70.5. Setting up automatic monthly withdrawals is convenient, but it restricts what you can do. The calculation outlined above would only take a minute with a calculator.