Roth Conversion and Marginal Vs Effective

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
SarahS

Roth Conversion and Marginal Vs Effective

Post by SarahS » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:39 am

Hi Bogleheads

I am currently a resident of OR (high state income tax of 9%) but will be moving to WA soon (no state income tax). Between this, and the lower federal tax rates currently in effect (husband and I are in 24% bracket), we’re considering doing some conversions of tIRA to Roth after we move to WA. But I struggle a bit with whether it makes sense to convert at 24% rate. (Note: I would pay the taxes with savings held in taxable accounts.) I realize each dollar I convert would be taxed at my marginal rate today, but how should I be thinking of this in terms of future taxes on the tIRA if I don’t convert: marginal rate vs effective rate?

02nz

Re: Roth Conversion and Marginal Vs Effective

Post by 02nz » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:19 am

This is a perennial debate but I think people are tripped up by semantics, because neither word (effective and marginal) is fully accurate/precise in this case. You need to look at the effective tax rate on that chunk, including growth, when withdrawn during retirement. That may or may not equal your overall effective tax rate (it does if you have no other income). It also may or may not equal your marginal rate (it does so only if the withdrawal falls entirely within one tax bracket).