As of 12/26, should I be in cash?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
strongu

As of 12/26, should I be in cash?

Post by strongu »

Hello all - I'm a newbie here. I've been using the IBD system, not religiously, for about seven years. I'm 64 years old, and my IRA lost 50% of value during the last recession. Now it's down 22% since August. I'm not a wealthy guy, and I am alarmed about the past two days on the stock market. I should have a healthy chunk in bonds at my age, but I don't. I don't think the economy is headed in a good direction currently. IBD would have me in all cash right now, looking for good stuff to buy if things begin to turn around. I'm ready to cash out today(temporarily), but suspect that the market may go up temporarily on Wednesday the 26th. I'd hate to miss out on that, but I also am not interested in losing much more of my hard-earned cash. Any thoughts from more experienced investors? Thanks, and Merry Christmas!
hawkfan55

Re: As of 12/26, should I be in cash?

Post by hawkfan55 »

Click on the Wiki and start learning about investing like a Boglehead. Don't do anything until you determine an asset allocation you can sleep with for the long term. No one knows if the stock market will go up or down from here, however, over the long term, equity markets have historically increased in value. I'm not familiar with the IBD system.
Merry Christmas!
Last edited by hawkfan55 on Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Forum Library of Investing Advice: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Main_Page
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

I don't think the market is going up very much until some issues are resolved. It might fluctuate around this point for a few weeks. Of course, I cannot predict the future, but I am not going into cash because then I would have no chance to participate in any market action.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.