Safe Harbor, Cap Gain, and RMD

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
RetiredCSProf

Safe Harbor, Cap Gain, and RMD

Post by RetiredCSProf »

I have read several of the Safe Harbor threads, but I am still confused about withholding versus estimated quarterly tax payments.

Capital Gain in 2019: In 3rd quarter of 2019, I expect to complete the sale of an out-of-state property and I will realize a long-term capital gain of about $230K. I am a CA resident, which treats cap gain as ordinary income. If the property were in CA, I would be expected to pay 13.3% income tax to CA at time of sale, but not required because property is out-of-state.

Taxes Owed for 2018: The cap gain alone will bring my AGI > $150K. To follow the safe harbor rule, my understanding is that, in 2019, I need to pay 110% of tax owed in 2018, for Fed and for state. My AGI for 2018 will be about $132K. I have estimated my 2018 Fed income tax to be about $20K and CA income tax to be about $4K (single, HoH).

Tax Withholding for 2019: I have Fed and state taxes withheld from my monthly pension and Fed taxes from my SS (CA does not tax SS). That won't be enough to cover 110%.

Tax Withholding from RMD vs estimated quarterly tax payments: I can bring the withholding up to 110% either by taking out enough to cover it from RMDs or by making estimated quarterly tax payments, or some combination of the two.

If I take the withholding from RMDs, do I need to split my RMD distributions into quarterly withdrawals? Or does it not matter when I take the RMDs, as long as I have withheld enough to bring withholding up to 110%?
Prudence

Re: Safe Harbor, Cap Gain, and RMD

Post by Prudence »

BTW, does your $132K AGI in 2018 include the RMDs?
kaneohe

Post by kaneohe »

The safe harbor rule is that you need to pay 110% of last yr tax if last yr AGI was > 150K. If 2018 AGI was 132K, then you